Luis Almagro

Secretary General of the Organization of American States, former Foreign Minister of Uruguay

Human Rights

Hans van Baalen

Leader of the People’s Party for Freedom and Democracy

North Korea

Kenneth Bae

Survivor of North Korean gulag, longest-held American prisoner


Maziar Bahari

Iranian-Canadian journalist, filmmaker and human rights activist


Yavuz Baydar

Turkish journalist who won the 2014 European Press Prize for fighting censorship in Turkey


William Browder

Hedge fund manager who lead successful campaign to adopt Magnitsky Act, a U.S. law sanctioning Russian oligarchs

Political Prisoners

Irwin Cotler

International Chair of Raoul Wallenberg Centre for Human Rights, former Minister of Justice & Attorney General of Canada


Asli Erdoğan

Turkish novelist, political prisoner who was released in December 2016


Yang Jianli

Chinese dissident, former political prisoner, Tiananmen Square massacre survivor and President of Initiatives for China


Jacqueline Kasha

Ugandan LGBT activist, founder and director of Freedom and Roam Uganda


Antonio Ledezma

Venezuelan opposition leader, political prisoner who escaped in November 2017

Democratic Republic of Congo

Julienne Lusenge

Leading women’s rights champion fighting rape as a weapon of war in eastern Congo, president of Female Solidarity for Integrated Peace and Development


Maryam Malekpour

Sister of Saeed Malekpour, Iranian developer serving a life sentence in Evin prison on spurious charges.


Evan Mawarire

Zimbabwean protest leader, arrested six times and tortured for his civil rights work

Human Rights

Alfred Moses

Chair of UN Watch, former U.S. Ambassador to Romania, Special Presidential Envoy for the Cyprus Conflict, Special Counsel to President Jimmy Carter


Effy Nguyen

Son of Nguyen Trung Ton, detained Vietnamese human rights defender and pastor


Taha Siddiqui

Pakistani journalist and social media activist who narrowly escaped a abduction